Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Doxy’s has the good fortune to be based in Colorado…where micro-brews and distilleries abound. Beer, Vodka, Whiskey, Gin, and more! This past weekend I visited a couple of distilleries and did a tour and tasting. We all know that it’s not the best idea to do vodka tastings on an empty stomach, but I’m all for breaking the rules, and in my case it brought out a stroke of inspiration. I had the brilliant idea to combine our crafts…Spring 44 Craft Vodka with Doxy’s craft Pasta Sauce Seasoning Blend would undoubtedly make a fantastic Penne with Vodka Sauce. So that’s what’s on the Doxy’s Menu this week.

FullSizeRender

Spring 44 makes, quite possibly, the smoothest vodka ever and it all begins with water from a natural mineral spring, elevation 9,000 feet, on a very remote piece of land in Colorado’s Buckhorn Canyon. Suffice it to say that Spring 44 is the only vodka I have ever drank “neat”…not to mention their Honey Vodka, which is off the charts delicious. But I must also mention their Mountain Gin – because I generally hate gin. The two versions of their gin that I tasted, both the Mountain Gin and Regular Gin, were so good that I drank them neat as well. With all this delicious alcohol flowing, and a new found appreciation for just how much passion goes into each and every bottle, I proceeded to making a Sweet Gin Martini. It’s a vintage recipe and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t supposed to turn out green. Oh well, it was my own little potion and it was divine. We ended up naming it “The Green Goblin,” for obvious reasons.

  • 2oz Spring 44 Mountain Gin
  • 2oz Sweet Vermouth (Which is Red)
  • About 5 dashes Orange Bitters
  • A Nice Pour of Curacao (Mine was Blue Curacao, when combined with the Vermouth…you got it…green cocktail)
  • Shake

IMG_4273